Officers, Committee Members & Representatives

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Officers of the Meeting 

(1 year terms)

Co-Clerk Debby Churchman
Co-Clerk Rebecca Nelson
Recording Clerk Tristan Kirkman
Treasurer David Miller
Assistant Treasurer Martha Solt
Financial Coordinator Neil Froemming
Recorder Barbara Briggs


Special Positions

(1 year terms)

Historians Chris Wickham    Hayden Wetzel


Administrative & Maintenance Staff

Administrative Secretary     Barbara Briggs                             
Event and Rental Manager Brian Lutenegger  
Property Manager Ken Orvis  
Youth Program Teacher

Donna Williams


Board of Trustees

(Six year terms run through the years specified)




2025 2026
Virginia Avanesyan Dan Dozier Elaine Wilson (Co-clerk, thru 2022)   Dante Bucci
Robin Appleberry William Foskett Chris Wickham (Co-clerk thru 12/22)    
  Mark Haskell Bruce Kellogg    
  Martha Solt      
  Faith Williams      


Standing Committees

Visit our committees page to learn more about our committees. Consider volunteering your talents by joining a committee!                      

(3 year terms run through the years specified)

Child Safety Committee  
Term expires end of:  
2021 2022 2023  
Virginia Avanesyan, clerk  Chris Mitchell    
  Tom Yonker    
Ex-officio members: Religious Education Committee clerks  
Finance & Stewardship Committee  
Term expires end of:  
2021 2022 2023  
Bill Foskett Dan Dozier Meg Greene  
John Bluedorn Neil Froemming    
Jennifer Jenkins Merry Pearlstein, co-clerk    
  Grant Thompson, co-clerk & assistant treasurer (End 6/2022)    
Ex officio member: David Miller, Treasurer (through 2020)  
Ex-officio member:  Financial Coordinator   
Ex-officio member: Barbara Briggs, Administrative Secretary  
Hospitality Committee  
Term expires end of:  
2022 2023 2024  
Greg Robb, clerk (ending 6/2022) Susan Bien Candy Miller  
  Peter Nye    
Library, Records & Handbook Committee  
Term expires end of:  
2021 2022 2023 2024
Lucy Norman Gene Throwe (clerk, 2021) Bobby Trice Chad Dobson
Frank Weiss Mark Kawar     
Chris Wickham      
Elizabeth Nyman      
Ex officio members: Librarians, Historians  
Marriage and Family Relations Committee  
Term expires end of:  
2021 2022 2023  
Diane White Gray Handley Jim Bell, Clerk  
  Danielle Carnes    
  Petra'Rahim Carnes    
  Beth Cogswell    
Membership Committee  
Term expires end of:  
2021 2022 2023 2024
Zoe Plaugher   Bobby Trice Betsy Bramon
Gray Handley Robert Farr, clerk Elaine Wilson Kathy Lipp Farr
Judy Hubbard, Recording Clerk Beth Cogswell    
Marsha Holliday      
Ministry and Worship Committee  
Term expires end of:  
2022 2023 2024  
Joe Izzo Amit Pandya Liz Pomerleau  
Tom Yonker Tish Thames Kathy Powell  
Ann Herzog      
Jean Capps - clerk 2022      
Nominating Committee  
Term expires end of:  
2021 2022 2023  
  Gene Throwe Virginia Avanesyan (clerk 2021)  
  Michael Beer    
  Megan Telfair Joe Izzo  
Ex officio members:  Young Adult Friends Co-convenor, Administrative Secretary  
Peace and Social Concerns Committee  
Term expires end of:  
2021 2022 2023 2024
Barbara Briggs, Clerk Steve Chase Guy Martorana Tamina Chowdhury
Helena Cobban Chris Kearns-McCoy Peter Nye Kristen Clark
  Jim Fussell    
Personal Aid Committee  
Term expires end of:  
2021 2022 2023 2024
Tom Libbert Mary Melchior, clerk  Ian Mooney Hayden Wetzel
  Greg Robb    
Personnel Committee  
Term expires end of:  
2021 2022 2023 2024
Bill Strein, Clerk   Aaron Johnson Justin Connor
Ed Hustead      
Ex-officio:  FMW Co-clerks Debby Churchman, Rebecca Nelson  
Property Committee  
Term expires end of:  
2022 2023 2024  
Jay Harris Ken Forsberg, co-clerk 2021    
  Elise Storck    
Ex officio member: Ken Orvis, Property Manager   
Ex officio member: Brian Lutenegger, Event and Rental Manager  
Ex officio member: Merry Pearlstein, Finance & Stewardship committee member  
Records and Handbook Committee (Merged into Library/Records & Handbook.  See above.)  
Religious Education Committee  
Term expires in JUNE of year listed:  
2022 2023 2024  
Julie Johnson, clerk Roseanna Stanton Kathy Lipp-Farr  
Marissa Yeakey Danielle Carnes Aaron Johnson  
Ex officio members: Youth Program Teacher, Child Safety Committee  

Special Committees

       (unspecified term length unless indicated otherwise)

Garden Committee    
(one year term)    
Mark Haskell, Clerk Chad Dobson  
Bruce Kellogg    
Gene Throwe    
Mary Jane Simpson (D.C.) Scholarship Fund
Terms **:
Marsha Holliday Anne Kendall, Clerk J.E. McNeil  
Bill Strein Elaine Wilson    
Search Committee (One year term, October to September)
  Jim Bell  
Ex officio member: Rebecca Nelson Presiding Clerk (through 2020)
Ex officio member: Barbara Briggs, Administrative Secretary
Hunger and Homelessness Task Force (under care of Peace & Social Concerns)
Gray Handley Brad Green Steve Brooks, Co-clerk
C.J. Lewis, Co-Clerk Betsy Bramon  
Information Technology    
Neil Froemming, Clerk   Brian Lutenegger
Andrew Hall Brad Green Daniel Dozier
C.J. Lewis Mackenzie Morgan Bill Foskett
Ex-officio member: Barbara Briggs, Administrative Secretary
Ex-officio members: Ken Orvis, Property Manager
Change Group for Racial Justice 
David Ethridge, clerk Debby Churchman   
Working Group on Clearness Committees
Petra-Rahim Carnes, clerk Barbara Briggs Danielle Carnes
David Etheridge Gray Handley Marsha Holliday
Ken Orvis William Parker Emilie Schmeidler
Roseanna Stanton    
Young Adult Friends    
Joe D'Antonio, co-convenor Alayna Kennedy, co-convener  

Representatives to Other Organizations

(One-year or three-year terms, expiring in year indicated)


Quaker Organizations

Meeting Liaisons    
American Friends Service Committee (AFSC) - 2 year term through 2021 Bill Parker
Baltimore Yearly Meeting Ministry and Pastoral Care Committee - unspecified term vacant
Friends Committee on National Legislation - 1 year term through 2021 Susan Griffin
Friends United Meeting - 1 year term vacant
Right Sharing of World Resources - 1 year term vacant
Interfaith Council of Metro Washington - unspecified term Chad Dobson
Friends Non-Profit Housing, Inc. Board - 3 year term
Dan Dozier    
School for Friends Board (3 year term, July-June)
Michael Cronin      

Non-Quaker Organizations

Advisory Neighborhood Commission 2-D - 1 year term
Barbara Briggs    
DC Council of Churches (Representative to Annual Meeting)
  Gene Throwe  
Interfaith Conference of Metropolitan Washington Joe Izzo