Officers, Committee Members & Representatives

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Officers of the Meeting 

(1 year terms)

Co-Clerk Debby Churchman
Co-Clerk Rebecca Nelson
Recording Clerk Amanda Nadeau Mayer
Treasurer David Miller
Assistant Treasurer Martha Solt
Financial Coordinator  
Recorder Barbara Briggs


Special Positions

(1 year terms)

Historians Chris Wickham    Hayden Wetzel


Administrative & Maintenance Staff

Administrative Secretary     Barbara Briggs                             
Event and Rental Manager Brian Lutenegger  
Property Manager Ken Orvis  
Youth Program Coordinators



Board of Trustees

(Six year terms run through the years specified)




Virginia Avanesyan Dan Dozier Elaine Wilson (Co-clerk, 2021)  
Robin Appleberry William Foskett Chris Wickham (Co-clerk  
  Mark Haskell (co-clerk 2020) Bruce Kellogg  
  Martha Solt    
  Faith Williams    


Standing Committees

Visit our committees page to learn more about our committees. Consider volunteering your talents by joining a committee!                      

(3 year terms run through the years specified)

Child Safety Committee
Term expires end of:
2020 2021 2022
Virginia Avanesyan, Clerk   Chris Mitchell
Ken Forsberg    
Tom Yonker    
Ex-officio members: Michael Beer, Youth Program Coordinator
Ex-officio member: Shannon Hughes, Clerk, Religious Education Committee (through 2019)
Finance & Stewardship Committee
Term expires end of:
2021 2022 2023
Bill Foskett Dan Dozier, Clerk  
John Bluedorn Neil Froemming  
Jennifer Jenkins Merry Pearlstein  
Grant Thompson Dante Bucci  
Ex officio member: David Miller, Treasurer (through 2020)
Ex-officio member:  **, Financial Coordinator 
Ex-officio member: Barbara Briggs, Administrative Secretary
Healing and Reconciliation Committee
Term expires end of:
2020 2021 2022
Ken Orvis, Clerk    
Janet Dinsmore    
Ylene Larsen    
Zoe Plaugher    
Hospitality Committee
Term expires end of:
2020 2021 2022
Juanita Cribb-Wade Andrea Bryant Bill Parker-clerk (1 yr)
Kathy Lipp Farr   Greg Robb
Susan Nelson    
Valerie Graff    
Library/Records & Handbook Committee
Term expires end of:
2020 2021 2021
Judy Hubbard Lucy Norman Gene Throwe (clerk, 2020)
Ana Rodriguez Frank Weiss Mark Kawar 
Bill Parker Chris Wickham  
  Elizabeth Nyman  
  Mary Lou Schram  
Abby Thomsen, emeritus
Patrick Lynam, emeritus
Ex officio member: Michael North, Librarian (through 2019)
Ex officio member: Elizabeth Nyman, Liaison member from Records and Handbook
Marriage and Family Relations Committee
Term expires end of:
2020 2021 2022
Carrie Mitchell Diane White Gray Handley, 
James Bell - Clerk   Danielle Carnes
    Petra'Rahim Carnes
    Beth Cogswell
Membership Committee
Term expires end of:
2020 2021 2022
Robert Farr, Clerk   Arlene Lutenegger
Gray Handley   Beth Cogswell
Judy Hubbard, Recording Clerk    
Kathy Lipp Farr    
Ministry and Worship Committee
Term expires end of:
2021 2022 2023
Sabrina McCarthy, co-clerk Joe D'Antonio Amit Pandya
  Joe Izzo  
  Tom Yonker  
  Ann Herzog  
  Jean Capps  
Nominating Committee
Term expires end of:
2020 2021 2022
Martha Solt, Clerk Todd Harvey Gene Throwe
Megan Telfar Joe D'Antonio Michael Beer
    Joe Izzo (starting Jan 2021)
    Jim Bell (starting Jan 2021)
Ex officio member: Rebecca Nelson (Young Adult Friends Co-convenor)
Peace and Social Concerns Committee
Term expires end of:
2020 2021 2022
Elaine Wilson, Co-Clerk Steve Chase Chris Kearns-McCoy
Gerry Fitzgerald Barbara Briggs, Clerk Jim Fussell
Chad Dobson    
Beth Cogswell    
Ex officio member: Jean Capps, American Friends Service Committee Liaison (through 2019)
Ex officio member: Elaine Wilson, Friends Committee on National Legislation Liaison (through 2019)
Personal Aid Committee
Term expires end of:
2020 2021 2022
Tom Libbert   Mary Melchior, clerk 
Hayden Wetzel   Greg Robb
Personnel Committee
Term expires end of:
2021 2022 2023
Bill Strein, Clerk Chris Kearns-McCoy  
Ed Hustead    
Ex-officio:  FMW Co-clerks Debby Churchman, Rebecca Nelson
Property Committee
Term expires end of:
2021 2022 2023
Matt Higgins Merry Pearlstein (co-clerk to 6/21) Ken Forsberg, co-clerk 2021
  James Bell Todd Harvey, co-clerk 2021
  Jose Woss  
  Jay Harris  
Ex officio member: Ken Orvis, Property Manager 
Ex officio member: Event and Rental Manager
Ex officio member: Finance & Stewardship committee member
Records and Handbook Committee (Merged into Library/Records & Handbook.  See above.)
Religious Education Committee
Term expires end of:
2020 2021 2022
Allen Fawcett, Co-Clerk    
Jacob Ritting, Co-Clerk    
Rob Vaughn    
Marissa Yeakey    
Susi Remold    
Julie Johnson    
Ex officio members: Youth Program Coordinator (vacant), Virginia Avanesyan, Child Safety Committee

Special Committees

       (unspecified term length unless indicated otherwise)

Garden Committee    
(one year term)    
Mark Haskell, Clerk    
Bruce Kellogg    
Gene Throwe    
Mary Jane Simpson (D.C.) Scholarship Fund
Terms expire end of 2019:
JE McNeil Barbara Monahan Anne Kendall, Clerk  
Abby Thomsen   Bill Strein  
Search Committee (One year term, October to September)
Joe Izzo Jim Bell  
Ex officio member: Rebecca Nelson Presiding Clerk (through 2020)
Ex officio member: Barbara Briggs, Administrative Secretary
Capital Improvement Task Force
(no specific term specified)
Neil Froemming, Co-Clerk C.J. Lewis  
Merry Pearlstein, Co-Clerk Ylene Larsen  
Ex officio member: Ken Orvis, Property Manager
Capital Campaign Committee
(no specific term specified)
Byron Sandford Susan Griffin, Co-Clerk Meg Greene, Co-Clerk
Mark Haskell Merry Pearlstein Neil Froemming
Ylene Larsen Susan Nelson Elise Storck
  Dante Bucci  
Committee Structure
Meg Greene Chris Wickham Todd Harvey, clerk
    Beth Cogswell
Harrassment, Ad Hoc
Elaine Wilson, clerk Zoe Plaugher    
Betsy Bramon Gray Handley    
Greg Robb    
Liz Pomerlau    
Hunger and Homelessness Task Force
Gray Handley Brad Green Steve Brooks, Co-clerk
C.J. Lewis, Co-Clerk Betsy Bramon  
Information Technology    
Neil Froemming, Clerk Katie Breslin Brian Lutenegger
Andrew Hall Brad Green Daniel Dozier
C.J. Lewis Mackenzie Morgan Bill Foskett
Ex-officio member: Barbara Briggs, Administrative Secretary
Ex-officio members: Ken Orvis, Property Manager
Pastoral Care Working Group
Marsha Holliday Sabrina McCarthy (clerk) David Etheridge
William Parker Liz Pomerleau Emilie Schmeidler
Roseanna Stanton Gene Throwe  
Race, Taskforce (under Peace and Social Concerns Committee)
David Ethridge, clerk Debby Churchman   
Working Group on Clearness Committees
Petra-Rahim Carnes, clerk Barbara Briggs Danielle Carnes
David Etheridge Gray Handley Marsha Holliday
Ken Orvis William Parker Emilie Schmeidler
Roseanna Stanton    
Sustainability and Climate Action Taskforce
Brian Lutenegger    
Young Adult Friends    
Rebecca Nelson, co-convenor Joe D'Antonio, co-convenor  

Representatives to Other Organizations

(One-year or three-year terms, expiring in year indicated)


Quaker Organizations

Meeting Liaisons    
American Friends Service Committee (AFSC) - 2 year term through 2019 Ylene Larsen
Baltimore Yearly Meeting Ministry and Pastoral Care Committee - unspecified term Blair Forlaw
Friends Committee on National Legislation - 1 year term through 2019 Elaine Wilson
Friends United Meeting - 1 year term through 2021 Sabrina McCarthy
Right Sharing of World Resources - 1 year term through 2019 Karen Grisez
Interfaith Council of Metro Washington - unspecified term Chad Dobson
Friends Non-Profit Housing, Inc. Board - 3 year term
Dan Dozier    
School for Friends Board (3 year term, July-June)
Through June 2019      
Michael Cronin    
William Penn House Board - 2 year term

Non-Quaker Organizations

Advisory Neighborhood Commission 2-D - 1 year term
Michael North    
DC Council of Churches (Representative to Annual Meeting)
Susan Meehan    


Tom Yonker
Grant Thompson
Megan Telfair